The year everyone was offended by everything.

 

I am a 33 year old, straight, white, Christian male who is not divorced. I have two kids and my wife and I both work full time jobs so my kids spend time at daycare. I openly practice my faith and work hard for the things that have been afforded to me. I live in a predominantly white neighborhood, I support pro-choice but cherish life all the same. I’m for gay marriage and a homosexual couple adopting children. I’ve used government assistance when it was needed and don’t take advantage of it when it’s not. My children will be going to public school and they will not be celebrated just for participating in something.

 Did that offend you? If it did, oh well. Sorry I’m not sorry.  

Those are the beliefs of my family and the foundation we are built on and it should not have any impact on you and what your core belief system is. Just because I think one way or another should have absolutely no bearing on you. If you became offended the real question you need to ask yourself is, “what the hell is wrong with me?” How can someone you barely know or don’t know at all have such an influential impact on your thoughts, behaviors and beliefs.

– “People will only make you feel inferior if you let them”. (Eleonore Roosevelt)

I want to make one thing very clear just so everyone is prepared for what lies ahead. JUST BECAUSE YOU ARE OFFENDED DOES NOT MEAN YOU ARE RIGHT!

Things are so backwards right now. People demand equality but aren’t willing to give it themselves. It’s all about what others can do for you. Someone did something you don’t like and they get criticized, chastised and ostracized for it.  Here is another truth more people need to hear. NO ONE OWES YOU A DAMN THING!

The worst thing about our world right now is how “sensitive” people have become. Why do we have to have such a public outcry because a black man was elected president 8 years ago or because a woman is a candidate for the next presidency? Why in the hell is their race or gender even a factor? Who cares!?! Black Lives Matter is BS! All lives matter! I can hear it now, “that’s just your white male privilege speaking.” Um, no its not, it’s my common sense. You don’t know my background, my upbringing or life experiences but I am quick to be judged because of what I think and feel. Get over it.

Our world is so damn selfish it astounds me. Let’s just medicate our children and turn them into zombies because we don’t want to take the time to raise them right and give them the attention they need and deserve. Heaven forbid you miss the next celebrity tweet or Instagram photo because you were being a parent. How many of our children can name the last 2 Nobel Prize winners? Probably a very small amount but I would be willing to bet all of them know the first and last names of the cast of the Kardashian show.

When did we as a collective people start idolizing celebrities instead of people who actually accomplish something in life other than having a sex tape or because their parents have money? When did that shift happen? When did it become more important to know if a dress was blue and black or white and gold over what is happening in the public school system? Arts and music has pretty much been obliterated from the schools along with PE. Growing up all three was a daily class and now it’s an elective. My children are getting robbed of that experience just so they can be taught common core crap and if I want to have them experience it I have to find a private teacher and pay an absurd amount of money. And don’t get me started on school lunches. I thought what I ate in school was horrific but the kids now a day are screwed.

It’s not hard to figure out what is wrong and it’s not hard to fix it. What’s hard is getting people to stop looking at their selves and get rid of their selfish entitlement to actually make a difference. Stop letting other people who don’t matter in your life control your life. Stop hanging on every word that a celebrity says and don’t let others form opinions for you. Research things you are passionate about and decide for yourself. Educate yourself on things that matter to you and do your best at whatever you do. The last and final thing I hope people get from this is simple, don’t be an asshole.

Leave a Reply

