WHY NOT?

I don’t claim to be a motivational speaker. I don’t think I can motive millions of people with the words I write or the opinions I share, and I don’t have any type of degree in anything. Ive failed more than I have succeeded and been beat down more than I have triumphed. Im just a regular guy, living a regular life. But I do have dreams and desires. There are achievements in life that I was to reach. Goals I’ve set that I would like to see to fruition.

My biggest dream in life, for myself, is to be a best selling author. Im talking like Stephen King or JK Rowling status. I’ve never taken a writing class outside of high school english. Ive never published anything outside of this blog. I’ve been working on my first fiction book for over a year now and I barely have 6,000 words written. I know the statistics on becoming a successful writer and I know what people say my chances are, but I don’t care. I want something and I will not give up on it. I don’t care if it takes me until I’m 90 years old, I will not give up on my dream.

There is an abundance of people telling you, “You can’t” and they ramble off tons of rational reasons as to why. “You can’t be a professional basketball player because you’re too short”. Tell that to Spud Webb! “You’ll never get equal rights because of your skin color”. I think Dr Martin L. King Jr. would disagree. “You can’t climb Mt. Everest with one arm”, but Guy Guller did it in 20013.

The point I’m trying to make is that if you want it, do it. Don’t let anyone tell you, you can’t. Don’t let other people dictate your life for you. Henry Ford said, “Whether you think you can, or you think you can’t. You’re usually right”.

Don’t stop, don’t give up don’t hesitate. Find what you want and grab ahold with everything you have. the only person that will stop you, is you. If you let others make decisions form you then you’ve lost already. My grammar is hideous,  my sentence structure is severely lacking and I get writers block like children get colds, but i still type away and continue to write. Even if no one ever reads or appreciate what I write or the stories I tell, I will be satisfied with knowing I didn’t let anyone tell me I couldn’t do it.

inspiring-600x323

You can be whatever you want to be. Your background, upbringing, social status or financial situation does not matter. Get off you butt, stop listening to the negativity and get going. To chance another cliche’, “A journey of 100 miles starts with the first step”.

Leave a Reply

